It is currently April 20th, 2024, 7:57 am

RSSWriter v1.1 - feeds made simple

Share and get help with Plugins and Addons
Saint Wacko

RSSWriter v1.1 - feeds made simple

Post by Saint Wacko »

Okay, this is my first time here. My friend, UnstoppableDave, does some skinning for Rainmeter, and he's been bugging me to write some programs to help skinners out, as I'm currently majoring in Computer Science. I don't really know much about skinning, but Dave tells me what the program needs to do, and I write it. If there are any changes you want to see, or other programs that you could use, feel free to say so.
So, without further ado, I present to you:

RSSWriter V1.1
RSSWriter1.1.zip

This handy little java program will make short work of complicated rss feeds. Simply give it the information it needs and it will write the large number of measures following a complex parser and place them in a text file in a location of your choosing. This program does not include a GUI, it runs solely in the command line via a series of simple prompts. This makes it small, fast, and easy to use.

Quick Readme:

Number of measure groups: This should be the same as the number of items you have in your rss feed. For example, '[Title1], [Link1], [Title2], [Link2], [Title3], [Link3]" would be 3 measure groups.

Number of Measures per Group: For example, if, for each item in your feed, you parsed a title, a link, and a date, you would have 3 measures per group.

Measure n title: The program will then ask you to define a series of measure titles. This is the pattern of measure titles it will use to name the measures. For example, if you wanted [title1] [link1] [title2] [link2] as your measures, you would put "title" in measure 1 title, and "link" in measure 2 title. Then, you will have [title1] [link1] [title2] [link2] etc., all the way up to as many measure groups as you made. Place an '&' in the title where you want the number to go.