It is currently March 28th, 2024, 4:24 pm

Problem with bangs from cmd

Get help with creating, editing & fixing problems with skins
Post Reply
User avatar
santa_ryan
Posts: 397
Joined: June 22nd, 2010, 4:11 am

Problem with bangs from cmd

Post by santa_ryan »

Rainmeter is not allowing me to send a bang via cmd.

E.G "C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" "!RainmeterQuit"

gives a error message box
The Rainmeter.ini file is not writable. This means that the application will not be able to save any settings permanently.

Make sure that the settings file is not set as read-only and that it is located in a folder where you have write permissions.

The settings file is located at:
C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\!RainmeterQuit\Rainmeter.ini
Why is it putting the bang in the settings file path??? 0.o


It does that for ANY bang passed as an argument. And changes the file path based on the argument...

Help is VERY appreciated here....
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Problem with bangs from cmd

Post by jsmorley »

From the cmd line, you don't put !bangs in quotes like that...

"C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterQuit

If you run Rainmeter with a parameter, and the parameter is not a !bang, it sees it (I think leftover from the ancient days when Rainmeter was a "plugin" for LiteStep) as a "load" command and assumes you want to use an alternative Rainmeter.ini. With the quotes around the !bang, it is not recognized as such, and so you get the behavior you describe.

You are getting the error due to UAC stopping you from creating a folder in C:\Program Files\Rainmeter I suspect.

If you don't have UAC on, and run "C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Rainmeter.exe" "!RainmeterQuit" from the command line, you get another instance of Rainmeter running, and a new folder in C:\Program Files\Rainmeter called \!RainmeterQuit. It will have a default Rainmeter.ini in it.

Just be sure the !bang itself is not in quotes. Parms to the !bang that have spaces can / should have quotes around them.
User avatar
santa_ryan
Posts: 397
Joined: June 22nd, 2010, 4:11 am

Re: Problem with bangs from cmd

Post by santa_ryan »

So it should really be like this?

"Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterSetVariable" "app1running "1" "TotalControl\DockIt!"

Or this?

"Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterSetVariable "app1running 1 TotalControl\DockIt!"
Last edited by santa_ryan on February 27th, 2011, 6:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22628
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Problem with bangs from cmd

Post by jsmorley »

I don't remember. Try it and see.
User avatar
santa_ryan
Posts: 397
Joined: June 22nd, 2010, 4:11 am

Re: Problem with bangs from cmd

Post by santa_ryan »

Got it

"Rainmeter.exe" !RainmeterSetVariable "Name" "1" "Test"
User avatar
Falconer
Posts: 115
Joined: August 12th, 2009, 4:10 pm
Location: Behind you!

Re: Problem with bangs from cmd

Post by Falconer »

*applause* :thumbup:
Congrats on resolving this.
Post Reply