It is currently March 28th, 2024, 6:22 pm

[Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Tips and Tricks from the Rainmeter Community
User avatar
GhostMatrix
Rainmeter Sage
Posts: 141
Joined: April 18th, 2009, 8:26 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada 45.5658°N, 73.5898°W UTC -5

[Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by GhostMatrix »

How to open the Start Menu with a little application (only 14 ko) made by Chris'n'Soft

Plugin:
First go to http://www.chrisnsoft.com/download/
Scroll down to OpenStartMenu and download the file, and you can also in the same time copy the text of the parameters for the .exe file.
Stop Rainmeter and place the .exe file in the Rainmeter Plugins folder.

Skin:
Choose a Png image for the Start Menu and add it in a skin folder, or create a skin for it (acting like a desktop icon).
The following example is the Meter code added in the .ini file of a Sidebar skin, to have the Start Menu open at his default location.
To open the Start Menu just left click on the Windows logo image.

That all !

GM

Code: Select all

[MeterStartMenu]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=WindowsLogo.png
X=13
Y=20
W=50
H=50
LeftMouseDownAction=!execute ["C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Plugins\openstartmenu.exe"]
sgtevmckay

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by sgtevmckay »

Works like a champ.

I have been looking for a way to accomplish this task, I thank you.

I can now scratch this off my list :D
dragonmage
Developer
Posts: 1270
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Location: NC, US

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by dragonmage »

Ahh, I see.
User avatar
gschoppe
Developer
Posts: 93
Joined: April 26th, 2009, 8:30 pm
Location: St Johnsbury, VT
Contact:

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by gschoppe »

this sort of system functionality really needs to be integrated into rainmeter, for it to be truly polished... I'll look into it.
User avatar
gschoppe
Developer
Posts: 93
Joined: April 26th, 2009, 8:30 pm
Location: St Johnsbury, VT
Contact:

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by gschoppe »

I talked to Christian Salmon of ChrisNSoft, he's allowed us to include his code in a rainmeter plugin as open source software... I've made a post regarding this to http://code.google.com/p/rainmeter/issues/detail?id=49#c0 Hopefully we can get this feature, and others, integrated before too long.
AlbinoAsian
Posts: 1
Joined: June 30th, 2009, 12:56 am

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by AlbinoAsian »

fantastic development with the prospect of having it built in =)
User avatar
PaulOFlaherty
Posts: 2
Joined: August 28th, 2009, 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by PaulOFlaherty »

Has there been any update on whether this will actually make it in?
Firstmate
Posts: 1
Joined: August 29th, 2009, 5:13 pm

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by Firstmate »

I'm extremely new to using rainmeter. Could you explain the parts from the 'Skins' section more?
User avatar
karmat
Posts: 329
Joined: July 7th, 2009, 11:10 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by karmat »

What a great addition, I've been autohiding my taskbar and startmenu lately, so this works perfectly for me, thanks!
User avatar
phenyll
Posts: 2
Joined: December 15th, 2009, 6:57 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !

Post by phenyll »

First of all hello to everybody, I just fond your cool Stuff.

Second - When trying to make the startmenuopener let my startmenu pop up at mouse position it doesn't work anymore at all. here's my code that I've been using. what's wrong?

Code: Select all

....
; METERS

[MeterStartMenu]
Meter=BUTTON
ButtonImage=C:\Users\phenyll\rainmeter\startbutton.png
X=13
Y=20
W=50
H=50
ButtonCommand=!execute ["C:\Users\phenyll\rainmeter\openstartmenu.exe /mouse"]

[Label]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleLabel
Text="START"
X=37
Y=70
W=50



thanks for any help.

*phenyll
Post Reply