View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently July 23rd, 2014, 6:16 pm



Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter ! 
Author Message

Rainmeter Sage

User avatar

Joined: April 18th, 2009, 8:26 pm
Posts: 140
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada 45.5658°N, 73.5898°W UTC -4
Post [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
April 26th, 2009, 11:30 pm
How to open the Start Menu with a little application (only 14 ko) made by Chris'n'Soft

Plugin:
First go to http://www.chrisnsoft.com/download/
Scroll down to OpenStartMenu and download the file, and you can also in the same time copy the text of the parameters for the .exe file.
Stop Rainmeter and place the .exe file in the Rainmeter Plugins folder.

Skin:
Choose a Png image for the Start Menu and add it in a skin folder, or create a skin for it (acting like a desktop icon).
The following example is the Meter code added in the .ini file of a Sidebar skin, to have the Start Menu open at his default location.
To open the Start Menu just left click on the Windows logo image.

That all !

GM

[MeterStartMenu]
Meter=IMAGE
ImageName=WindowsLogo.png
X=13
Y=20
W=50
H=50
LeftMouseDownAction=!execute ["C:\Program Files\Rainmeter\Plugins\openstartmenu.exe"]

Profile

Administrator

User avatar

Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:29 pm
Posts: 1336
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
April 26th, 2009, 11:34 pm
Works like a champ.

I have been looking for a way to accomplish this task, I thank you.

I can now scratch this off my list :D

Profile WWW

Administrator


Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 4:31 am
Posts: 1337
Location: NC, US
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
April 27th, 2009, 2:05 am
Ahh, I see.

Profile

Developer

User avatar

Joined: April 26th, 2009, 8:30 pm
Posts: 92
Location: St Johnsbury, VT
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
April 29th, 2009, 2:02 am
this sort of system functionality really needs to be integrated into rainmeter, for it to be truly polished... I'll look into it.

Profile WWW

Developer

User avatar

Joined: April 26th, 2009, 8:30 pm
Posts: 92
Location: St Johnsbury, VT
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
May 1st, 2009, 11:55 am
I talked to Christian Salmon of ChrisNSoft, he's allowed us to include his code in a rainmeter plugin as open source software... I've made a post regarding this to http://code.google.com/p/rainmeter/issues/detail?id=49#c0 Hopefully we can get this feature, and others, integrated before too long.

Profile WWW

Joined: June 30th, 2009, 12:56 am
Posts: 1
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
June 30th, 2009, 1:05 am
fantastic development with the prospect of having it built in =)

Profile
User avatar

Joined: August 28th, 2009, 11:52 pm
Posts: 2
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
August 29th, 2009, 12:05 am
Has there been any update on whether this will actually make it in?

Profile WWW

Joined: August 29th, 2009, 5:13 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
August 29th, 2009, 5:14 pm
I'm extremely new to using rainmeter. Could you explain the parts from the 'Skins' section more?

Profile

Moderator

User avatar

Joined: July 7th, 2009, 11:10 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Canada
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
August 30th, 2009, 2:38 am
What a great addition, I've been autohiding my taskbar and startmenu lately, so this works perfectly for me, thanks!

Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: December 15th, 2009, 6:57 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Germany
Post Re: [Plugin] Open the Start Menu with Rainmeter !
December 15th, 2009, 7:07 pm
First of all hello to everybody, I just fond your cool Stuff.

Second - When trying to make the startmenuopener let my startmenu pop up at mouse position it doesn't work anymore at all. here's my code that I've been using. what's wrong?
....
; METERS

[MeterStartMenu]
Meter=BUTTON
ButtonImage=C:\Users\phenyll\rainmeter\startbutton.png
X=13
Y=20
W=50
H=50
ButtonCommand=!execute ["C:\Users\phenyll\rainmeter\openstartmenu.exe /mouse"]

[Label]
Meter=STRING
MeterStyle=StyleLabel
Text="START"
X=37
Y=70
W=50





thanks for any help.

*phenyll

Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.