It is currently May 5th, 2024, 8:23 pm

Zoom properties

Report bugs with the Rainmeter application and suggest features.
User avatar
sa3er
Posts: 152
Joined: March 2nd, 2013, 7:18 am
Location: Tehran

Zoom properties

Post by sa3er »

Is it possible to have a Zoom properties for each skin in Manage window, so there would be no need to make copies of each skin in different sizes.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Zoom properties

Post by jsmorley »

Absolutely not. The shear amount of components and options of a skin that can play into the overall "size" of the skin is virtually unlimited. This would never be possible in the current architecture of Rainmeter.
User avatar
sa3er
Posts: 152
Joined: March 2nd, 2013, 7:18 am
Location: Tehran

Re: Zoom properties

Post by sa3er »

Well at least for small and light skins,

Code: Select all

If (Components > 2 ) {
   Disable Zoom
}
:D
User avatar
Virginityrocks
Posts: 478
Joined: February 26th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Re: Zoom properties

Post by Virginityrocks »

You can program your own zooming functions into your skin using multipliers.

For example, combine every W, H, and FontSize value with *#Zoom#

FontSize=12*#Zoom#
W=100*#Zoom#
H=200*#Zoom#

By default, the value of #Zoom# should be 1 and the variable should be placed in an .INC file and every skin should Include it. Create a slider or some other way for users to increase or decrease #Zoom# in 0.01 increments, each time increasing or decreasing the scale of your skin by 1%.
Droptop Four
Dropdown menu bar & app launcher for Windows & Rainmeter
User avatar
sa3er
Posts: 152
Joined: March 2nd, 2013, 7:18 am
Location: Tehran

Re: Zoom properties

Post by sa3er »

Dude, formulas (e.g. multipliers) do not work as meter option values, at least not in the version I'm using [2.5.0 r1842 64-bit (Mar 24 2013)]. However it is possible to directly increase the FontSize or H/W using a slider value and !SetOption.

Thank you anyway.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Zoom properties

Post by jsmorley »

sa3er wrote:Dude, formulas (e.g. multipliers) do not work as meter option values, at least not in the version I'm using [2.5.0 r1842 64-bit (Mar 24 2013)]. However it is possible to directly increase the FontSize or H/W using a slider value and !SetOption.

Thank you anyway.
Actually, formulas do work in numeric meter options as long as you enclose the formula in parentheses. This has worked for quite a while:

http://docs.rainmeter.net/history#r1304

Code: Select all

[Rainmeter]
Update=1000

[MeterOne]
Meter=Image
W=(100 * 1.5)
H=(50 * 1.5)
SolidColor=150,150,150,255

[MeasureNumber]
Measure=Calc
Formula=100

[MeterTwo]
Meter=Image
Y=2R
W=([MeasureNumber] * 1.5)
H=(([MeasureNumber] / 2 ) * 1.5)
SolidColor=150,150,150,255
DynamicVariables=1
User avatar
sa3er
Posts: 152
Joined: March 2nd, 2013, 7:18 am
Location: Tehran

Re: Zoom properties

Post by sa3er »

Wow, thanks Jeffrey. Rainmeter has easter eggs. : ))
Never know about this, so the key was parentheses.
Please add a note about this to online manual or maybe I missed it. : \
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Zoom properties

Post by jsmorley »

http://docs.rainmeter.net/manual/measures/calc

"Note: The formula syntax and operators described for the Calc measure can also be used in formulas in other measure and meter options. Formulas used outside of a Calc measure must be enclosed in parentheses."
User avatar
sa3er
Posts: 152
Joined: March 2nd, 2013, 7:18 am
Location: Tehran

Re: Zoom properties

Post by sa3er »

And yes I did.
Not a good place though, in MHO. Kinda hidden.
Will be nice to have it in where meter options are described as well.
User avatar
jsmorley
Developer
Posts: 22631
Joined: April 19th, 2009, 11:02 pm
Location: Fort Hunt, Virginia, USA

Re: Zoom properties

Post by jsmorley »

sa3er wrote:And yes I did.
Not a good place though, in MHO. Kinda hidden.
Will be nice to have it in where meter options are described as well.
Not a bad idea, the trouble is that formulas can be used in ANY meter or measure option (not just general options) that has a numeric value. So I would have to pepper it all over the place, and I'm not sure I want to do that. In fact, I know I don't...